What do I write about?

My first diary.

I have struggled with what I want to say – in a blog post, on social media, to my therapist, to friends, with my art. I decided to look back at my decades of diaries. There are many.

23 completed diaries.

Mostly they contain writing.

My major in college was enameling.

Some diaries have the occasional drawing.

Cow.
Cow?
January 9, 2007.

You get the gist. Since 2009 or so I write about my art and politics too. Each year the political stakes seem more dire, more unbalanced, more frightful.

Today.

What to do with all these words, recipes, doodles, gossip, thoughts?

Right now the diaries take up 3 drawers in a cabinet. One is in a collection in Miami, Florida. The RISD Museum doesn’t want them – I asked. For now I’ll keep them. They are for me. For now.

Published by jessica does things

I am an artist who worries about cleaning the house.

Leave a comment