The Lonely Artist.

Today I am 66.

Thanks to social media many people have sent me good, kind wishes. This is one reason I will stay on all the platforms, in spite of their owners being greedy capitalists, homo and trans phobic misogynists.

Really this post, and others to come, are about lives where very little happens. It is not 100 days of an achievement (push ups, cleaning, saying yes! to sex). I already draw and paint every day.

Rather, I’m curious as to how many of us have little change over weeks and years. Is it only me?

I have an ongoing series I began in 2023 about making a visual record of extreme loss of life. There are twelve so far, and two in process. They look like this:

And this:

They are my passion project and I think they’re ‘good’, ‘important’. I would like to exhibit them. I have sent three queries to curators so far. I received one automatic reply that essentially said DO NOT DO THIS. WE DON’T KNOW YOU. Another went into a black hole with no reply, even with a name drop and recommendation from a curator/friend. The third replied and said we could meet in May or June. I will send another today to another curator.

I also make small drawings, mostly in ink, because I love to draw. I listen to music and audio books, which allow me to work and think but also enrich my soul, keep me connected to humanity, educate me, and inspire me. I am thankful to have gallery representation in NYC, at McKenzie Fine Art. I do not take this lightly.

Method & Intuition.
Method & Intuition: Detail.

I live in Rhode Island, which calls itself The Arts State. It isn’t.

So, I feel invisible, anxious and have turned to Death Cleaning as my favorite way to relax, along with crocheting a blanket. For Christmas I received these books, from my dear friend S.

I walk my 17 year old dog.

Mr. Sweetie

I smoke (though am slowly cutting back.

I’ve all but given up on the idea, the dream of an art CAREER. Still, I work every day, and will work today. I will send out queries to curators, and applications for residencies. That is what I do. I will write about what does, or most likely doesn’t happen.

My mom chose this life for me. She believed it would keep me from being bored and lonely into my old age.

One out of two isn’t so bad.

Published by jessica does things

I am an artist who worries about cleaning the house.

Leave a comment